Didsbury GC 21 April 2021

## Didsbury Captain Barry Wynter celebrating winning the Am Am at his home club.

Swipe left or right to view images.

Sting in the tail from home stars

AFTER two days of near tropical weather on the Mersey Riviera the Manchester Alliance faced stiff cold wins and a challenging and well presented course at Didsbury GC competing for the Bert Thompson Trophy.
Bert was a member at Didsbury for many years and a top official for the Alliance as well.
Beating par was difficult for the professionals with only Order of Merit high-fliers Jamie Howarth (Davenport) with 39 points and Phil Archer (Poulton Park) 37 managing this with Chris Bibby (Whitefield), Mark Hancock (Stand) and former Alliance Captain Dave Smith in joint third with 35.
Jamie made it a double as he partnered new Didsbury staff member and Davenport player Stefan Sullivan to 42 points edging out Scott Jackson and Steve Misell (Disley) on a cpo.
Next in were Phil Archer and Anton Johnson (Warrington) from Disley duo Ian Ridgway and Dave Bradbury on a cpo on 41.
The final drama came from the last pair out on the course Didsbury Captain Barry Wynter and vice Captain Chas McPeake who used their expert local knowledge to good effect as they topped the am am section with 40 points.
It took them one clear of Stamford’s dynamic duo of Tony Smith and Mike Hewitt who beat club colleagues Steve Finan and Martin Dwyer on a cpo for the runners-up berth.
The nearest the pin prize on the 18th hole was won by Kris Andrews (Ashton-on-Mersey).
Another great day for the Alliance with Didsbury GC being excellent hosts both on and off the course.

Geoff Garnett

Professional's Individual

Pos Pro’s Individual Pts
1 Jamie Howarth (Davenport) 39
2 Phil Archer (Poulton Park) 37
3 = Chris Bibby (Whitefield) 35
  Mark Hancock (Stand) 35
  Dave Smith 35
6= Andy Palmer (Chorley) 34
  Ian Ridgway (Disley) 34
8= Scott Howarth (Davenport) 33
  Scott Jackson (Disley) 33
10 Matty Kay (Ashton under Lyne) 32
11 Andy Bridgewood (Flixton) 31
12= Kris Andrews (Ashton on Mersey) 29
  Alan Crompton (Haigh Hall) 29
14= Dave Green (Dukinfield) 28
  Grant Hamerton (Pike Fold) 28
16 Tim Maxwell (Knutsford) 25
  Mark Smith (Stamford) NR
  Tony Stevens (Davenport) NR
  Andy Earlam (Saddleworth) NR
  Tom Fenton (Styal) NR

Pro Am

In Card Play Off Order

Pos PRO AM Pts
1 Jamie Howarth (Davenport) & Stefan Sullivan (Davenport) 42
2 Scott Jackson (Disley) & Steve Misell (Disley) 42
3 Phil Archer (Poulton Park) & Anton Johnson (Warrington) 41
4 Ian Ridgway (Disley) & Dave Bradbury (Disley) 41
5 Dave Green (Dukinfield) & Barrie Lees (Dukinfield) 39
6 Mark Hancock (Stand) & Gareth Mawdsley (Stand) 39
7 Andy Palmer (Chorley) & Paul Barlow (Stamford) 39
8 Scott Howarth (Davenport) & Peter Botterman (Stockport) 39
9 Dave Smith & Jimmy O’Reilly (Ellesmere) 39
10 Andy Bridgewood (Flixton) & Greg Norbury (Flixton) 38
11 Kris Andrews (Ashton on Mersey) & Gordon Hamlet (Ashton on Mersey) 38
12 Tim Maxwell (Knutsford) & Barney Ross (Sale) 37
13 Chris Bibby (Whitefield) & Chris Sadden (Shaw Hill) 37
14 Tom Fenton (Styal) & Mike Fenton (Styal) 37
15 Grant Hamerton (Pike Fold) & Matthew Robertson (Pike Fold) 37
16 Alan Crompton (Haigh Hall) & John Egan (Haigh Hall) 34
17 Matty Kay (Ashton under Lyne) & Paul Eddlestone (Ashton under Lyne) 34
18 Andy Earlam & Graham Hobbs (Saddleworth) 33
19 Mark Smith (Stamford) & Paul Laing (Glossop) 30
  Tony Stevens (Davenport) & Archie Palmer (Davenport) 0

Am Am

In Card Play Off Order

Pos Am/Am Pts
1 Barry Wynter (Captain Didsbury GC) Charles McPeake (Didsbury) 40
2 Tony Smith (Stamford) Mike Hewitt (Stamford) 39
3 Steve Finan (Stamford) Martin Dwyer (Stamford) 39
4 Andy Dunster (Saddleworth) Cliff Bird (Saddleworth) 38
5 Paul Thornley (Flixton) Chris Mulhearn (Flixton) 38
6 Darron Tickle (Blackley) Elliott Tickle (Blackley) 38
7 John Aikenhead (Ashton on Mersey) Mark Gauchi (Ashton on Mersey) 38
8 Wayne Lindsay (Disley) John Johnson (Disley) 38
9 Nigel Bowers (Blackley) Neil Murray (Blackley) 37
10 Paul Traynor (Stamford) Richard Margrave (Stamford) 36
11 Ian Thomason (Disley) Steve Hamlet (Disley) 36
12 Philip Dearden (Flixton) Steve Berry (Flixton) 36
13 Adam Wells (Stamford) Ian Godfrey (Stamford) 36
14 Richard Blackwell (Mottram Hall) John Hilton (Mottram Hall) 36
15 John Kilner (Marriott Worsley Park) Tom Baker (Marriott Worsley Park) 35
16 Chris Lee (Mellor & Townscliffe) Tony Woodford (Mellor & Townscliffe) 35
17 Dave Rothwell (Shaw Hill) Zack Rothwell (Shaw Hill) 35
18 Paul Robinson (Davenport) Dave Waldron Kelly (Davenport) 32
19 Andy Angelone (Stamford) Chris Exton (Stamford) 32
20 Gary Torr (Saddleworth) Tad Knebel (Saddleworth) 32
21 Dave Codd (Disley) Simon Wright (Disley) 32
22 Alan Leigh (Prestwich) Ged Burke (Whitefield) 32
23 Dave Smith (Hart Common) Danny Beeley (Hart Common) 29
24 Ian Fearns (Stamford) Phil Ramsden (Stamford) 28
25 Don Milligan (Ashton on Mersey) Mick Holmes (Cheadle) 25

Nearest the pin on hole 18 - Kris Andrews (Ashton on Mersey)