Birchwood GC 28 April 2021

Scott Jackson (Disley)
Professional Individual Winner
Swipe left or right to view images.

Breezy Birchwood sets up dramatic finale for final competition.

Sponsored by Jonathon Gallagher 'Galvin Green'

MUCH needed overnight rain toned up a superbly conditioned Birchwood Golf Club with great greens providing an excellent challenge on the penultimate fixture of the Alliance season.
A very cold wind did not deter the players from producing a string of good scores which will help to provide a dramatic finish to the Professional Order of Merit on the final competition at Turton GC.
Current Order of Merit leader Jamie Howarth (Davenport) increased his lead to 24 points over Phil Archer (Poulton Park) after finishing second to Scott Jackson (Disley) who posted 38 points, one more than Jamie with Phil and Craig Corrigan next in with 35.
The pro am winner was Alliance legend Andy Baguley, now representing Westhoughton, who combined with Joe Manfredi (Regent Park), for a top score of 43 points one more than Scott Howarth and his Stockport partner Peter Botterman who won a cpo from Scott Jackson and his Disley partner Steve Misell.
There were runaway leaders in the Am Am section with in-form Blackley family duo Darron and Elliot Tickle top of the shop with 45 points.
Next in on 41 points were John Aikenhead and Mark Gauchi (Ashton-on-Mersey) who won a cpo from Stamford’s Thomas Simpson and Nick Rabbeth.
Another great day of golf helped at the close of play with heating in the refreshment area.
All to play for at Turton!

Geoff Garnett

Professional's Individual

Pos Pro’s Individual Pts
1 Scott Jackson (Disley) 38
2 Jamie Howarth (Davenport) 37
3 = Phil Archer (Poulton Park) 35
  Craig Corrigan 35
5 = Scott Howarth (Davenport) 34
  Ian Ridgway (Disley) 34
  Alan Crompton (Haigh Hall) 34
8 Mark Smith (Stamford) 33
9= Andy Palmer (Chorley) 32
  Carl Edwards (Birchwood) 32
11 = Chris Bibby (Whitefield) 31
  Andrew Baguley (Westhoughton) 31
  Martin Longshaw 31
14 = Tony Stevens (Davenport) 30
  Grant Hamerton (Pike Fold) 30
  Dave Green (Dukinfield) 30
17 Kris Andrews (Ashton on Mersey) 29
18 Tom Clancy (Cheadle) 28
19 = Mark Hancock (Stand) 27
  Gary Brown (Glossop) MDGA Capt 27
  Steve Ingham (Blackley) NR
  Tom Fenton (Styal) NR
  Tim Maxwell (Knutsford) NR

Pro Am

In Card Play Off Order

Pos PRO AM Pts
1 Andrew Baguley (Westhoughton) Joe Manfredi (Regent Park) 43
2 = Scott Howarth (Davenport) Peter Botterman (Stockport) 42
  Scott Jackson (Disley) Steve Misell (Disley) 42
4 = Chris Bibby (Whitefield) Mark Pasquill (Leigh) 40
  Tim Maxwell (Knutsford) Joe Stanley (Knutsford) 40
  Ian Ridgway (Disley) Dave Bradbury (Disley) 40
7 = Jamie Howarth (Davenport) Brook Snape (Stockport) 39
  Craig Corrigan Mark Riley (Leigh) 39
  Dave Green (Dukinfield) Paul Crisp (Ashton on Mersey) 39
10 = Tony Stevens (Davenport) Paul Robinson (Davenport) 38
  Phil Archer (Poulton Park) Andrew Stokes (Birchwood) 38
12 Andy Palmer (Chorley) Paul Barlow (Stamford) 37
13 = Carl Edwards (Birchwood) Simon Wilkinson (Captain Birchwood GC) 36
  Mark Smith (Stamford) Liam Charles 36
  Grant Hamerton (Pike Fold) Matthew Robertson (Pike Fold) 36
16 = Tom Clancy (Cheadle) Mick Holmes (Cheadle) 35
  Alan Crompton (Haigh Hall) John Egan (Haigh Hall) 35
  Kris Andrews (Ashton on Mersey) Ged Stelfox (Fairfield) 35
  Martin Longshaw Martin Packingham (Wigan) 35
20 = Mark Hancock (Stand) Paul McMullen (Stand) 34
  Tom Fenton (Styal) Mike Fenton (Styal) 34
22 Steve Ingham (Blackley) Mike Smith (Blackley) 31
23 Gary Brown (Glossop) MDGA Capt Richard Blackwell (Mottram Hall) 28

Am Am

In Card Play Off Order

Pos Am/Am Pts
1 Darron Tickle (Blackley) Elliott Tickle (Blackley) 45
2 John Aikenhead (Ashton on Mersey) Mark Gauchi (Ashton on Mersey) 41
3 Thomas Simpson (Stamford) Nick Rabbeth (Stamford) 41
4 Jimmy O’Reilly (Ellesmere) Alan Leigh (Prestwich) 41
5 Zack Rothwell (Shaw Hill) Dave Rothwell (Shaw Hill) 39
6 Paul Traynor (Stamford) Richard Margrave (Stamford) 38
7 Ian Thomason (Disley) Steve Hamlet (Disley) 38
8 Archie Palmer (Davenport) Dave Waldron Kelly (Davenport) 38
9 Ian Godfrey (Stamford) Paul Ralph (Hazel Grove) 38
10 Gordon Hamlett (Ashton on Mersey) Nigel Mather (Ashton on Mersey) 37
11 John Kilner (Marriott Worsley Park) Tom Baker (Marriott Worsley Park) 37
12 Tony Smith (Stamford) Mike Hewitt (Stamford) 36
13 Chris Lee (Mellor & Townscliffe) Tony Woodford (Mellor & Townscliffe) 36
14 Steve Finan (Stamford) Martin Dwyer (Stamford) 35
15 Moby Rawthore (Sale) Pete Myers (Mottram Hall) 35
16 Ian Fearns (Stamford) Phil Ramsden (Stamford) 34
17 John Russell (Sale) Kevin Hawkins (Withington) 33
18 Geoff Gable (Disley) Dave Stephenson (Disley) 33
19 Dave Smith (Hart Common) Danny Beeley (Hart Common) 31
20 Andrew Duncan (Mellor & Townscliffe) Scott Jackson (Mellor & Townscliffe) 29

Nearest the pin on hole 17 - Andrew Baguley (Westhoughton)