Hazel Grove Golf Club 29th September 2021

Four Person Team

Sponsored by Steve Finan ‘Finan Fibre Fillings'

Kris sees Mersey maintain their momentum

THE excellent weather enjoyed in the early days of the Alliance Winter Competitions ended with a day of four seasons at Hazel Grove Golf Club which was top class both on and off the course.
The excellently presented Hazel Grove course is always a challenge and some strong winds, cold temperatures and heavy showers saw many of the players in the Team of Four competition struggling to accumulate the points.
Ashton-on-Mersey GC have made a great start to the season featuring amongst the prizes at Crompton and Royton and Bramhall as well as reaching the Dunham Forest Trophy final.
Their hot young professional Haydn McCullen was unavailable for this fixture but Mersey pro Kris Andrews stepped into the breach with great effect.
He inspired his old firm of John Aikenhead, Gordon Hamlett and Mark Gauchi to amass 88 points as they set the early target for the day.
It proved to be more than enough as they finished two clear of Bury GC’s fab four of Chris Bibby, Colin Stephenson, Mick Kelly and Simon Daniels with Jamie Howarth (Davenport), Peter Botterman and Brook Snape (Stockport) and Chris Alexander (Mellor and Townscliffe) next in on 85.

The top individual pro was Jamie Howarth with 38 ahead of Andy Brigewood (Flixton) 36 and Kris Andrews 35.

The nearest the pin prize went to Mark Window of Styal.

James Rowlands, the Hazel Grove professional enjoyed a great day with his team of Harry Hanson, Debbie Wilson and Lady Captain Loranne Harrison who finished her round in style with a monster putt on the 18th.

Picture: Competition sponsor Steve Finan with his team - Mark Smith (Professional Stamford GC), Tony Smith, Steve Finan (Sponsor) & Leigh Williams (all from Stamford GC).

Geoff Garnett

1 Scott Howarth (Davenport) 39
1 Scott Jackson (Disley) 39
3 Jamie Howarth (Davenport) 38
4 Ian Ridgway (Disley) 37
5 Andy Palmer (Chorley) 36
6 Craig Corrigan 35
6 Sean Blinkhorn (Leigh) 35
6 Graham Cox (Lymm) 35
6 Mike Boyle (Ashton under Lyne) 35
10 Martyn Hamer (Davyhulme Park) 34
11 Tom Fenton (Styal) 32
11 Sean Owen (Bolton Old Links) 32
13 Tim Maxwell (Knutsford) 31
14 James Rowlands (Hazel Grove) 30
NR Tony Stevens (Davenport) NR
NR Kris Andrews (Ashton on Mersey) NR
NR Dave Green (Dukinfield) NR
NR Ollie Pantoja (Ashton on Mersey) NR
1 Kris Andrews (Ashton on Mersey) John Aikenhead (Ashton on Mersey) Gordon Hamlett (Ashton on Mersey) Mark Gauchi (Ashton on Mersey) 88
2 Chris Bibby (Bury) Colin Stephenson (Bury) Mick Kelly (Bury) Simon Daniels (Bury) 86
3 Jamie Howarth (Davenport) Chris Alexander (Mellor & T’cliffe) Brook Snape (Stockport) Peter Botterman (Stockport) 85
4 Tom Clancy (Cheadle) Mick Holmes (Cheadle) Alistair Holloway (Denton) Anthony Kenny (Prestwich) 84
5 Steve Hamlet (Disley) Neil O’Brien (Disley) Geoff Gable (Disley) Dave Stephenson (Disley) 82
6 Steve Finan (Stamford) Mark Smith (Stamford) Lee Williams (Stamford) Tony Smith (Stamford) 82
7 Ben Thompson (Romiley) Wayne Davies (Sale) James Gough (Sale) Michael Potts (Alsager) 81
8 Anthony Cavanagh (Stamford) Martin Dwyer (Stamford) Paul Traynor (Stamford) Richard Margrave (Stamford) 81
9 Craig Daggitt (Bramall Park) Ewan McCray (Bramall Park) Jason Unsworth (Bramall Park) Andy Ince (Bramall Park) 81
10 Andy Bridgewood (Flixton) Greg Norbury (Flixton) Paul Thornley (Flixton) Chris Mulhearn (Flixton) 81
11 Dave Green (Dukinfield) Paul Crisp (Ashton on Mersey) Josh Corrigan (Ashton on Mersey) Colin Poole (Ashton on Mersey) 80
12 John Kilner (Marriott Worsley Park) Dave Smith (Hart Common) Danny Beeley (Hart Common) Terry O’Mara (Ellesmere) 79
13 Craig Corrigan Mark Riley (Leigh) Joe Manfredi (Regent Park) Paul Hesford (Leigh) 79
14 Gary Brown (Glossop) Richard Blackwell (Mottram Hall) John Hilton (Mottram Hall) John Blackwell (Mottram Hall) 79
15 John Davies (Davyhulme Park) Ian Hales (Ringway) Peter McManus (Chorlton cum Hardy) Steve Barlow (Chorlton cum Hardy) 78
16 Jimmy O’Reilly (Ellesmere) Dave Ellison (Hindley Hall) Alan Leigh (Worsley)   77
17 Carleton Weldon (Stamford) Sam Hudson (Stamford) Callum Dinsdale (Stamford) Mike Leigh (Stamford) 77
18 Chris Lee (MDGA Captain) Philip Crosthwaite (Mellor & Townscliffe) Steve Crosthwaite (Mellor & Townscliffe) Tony Woodford (Mellor & Townscliffe) 77
19 Dave Rothwell (Shaw Hill) Zack Rothwell (Shaw Hill) Gareth Barlow (Bolton Old Links) Sam Holland (Bolton Old Links) 75
20 Andy Earlam (Saddleworth) Phil Stevenson (Saddleworth) Matthew Chapman (Saddleworth) Alan Entwistle (Saddleworth) 75
21 Tony Stiles (Sale) Dave Chambers (Stockport) Mark Hoyland (Sale) Alan McNeil (Sale) 74
22 Paul Sutherland (Styal) Mark Window (Styal) Arthur Jowles (Styal) Ian Sheldon (Styal) 74
23 Ian Fearns (Stamford) Phil Ramsden (Stamford) Paul Ralph (Hazel Grove) Chris Hey (Stamford) 72
24 Tom Fenton (Styal) Mike Fenton (Styal) Don Milligan (Ashton on Mersey) Dave Chambers (Stockport) 71
25 James Rowlands (Hazel Grove) Loranne Harrison (Lady Captain - Hazel Grove) Debbie Wilson (Hazel Grove) Harry Hanson (Hazel Grove) 71
26 Joe Ridley (Saddleworth) Tad Knebel (Saddleworth) Gary Torr (Saddleworth) Mike Taylor (Saddleworth) 70